Costa Rica, Day 3: Exploring Uvita

HammockStairsWhen I arrived at Hostel Cascada Verde just up the hill from Uvita, Costa Rica last night, it was after dark. The surroundings weren’t very easy to see because it was dark, but I could see the hostel was pretty amazing, with indirect lighting everywhere, travelers of all stripes lounging in hammocks, making snacks in the kitchen, surfing the internet on their device of choice, and an international boho vibe that was almost palpable. I met two couples from Germany (one being the owners), a young lady from London, one from Texas via Virginia, , a Costa Rican American who owned a hostel in Drake Bay, and one of his volunteers (who were my bunk mates), and there was Felix and Mariell (from Germany and Sweden respectively, pictured below).

I woke up this morning around 6:30 without an alarm of any kind. I let the monkeys, toucans, quetzals, macaws, cicadas and frogs be my alarm. I stepped out of my room and freaked out. I can’t lie. I could see now in full daylight how INSANE this place is. This is the magic of Costa Rica.

Felix from Hamburg, Germany, and Mariell from Gothenburg, Sweden. You should be here.

Felix from Hamburg, Germany, and Mariell from Gothenburg, Sweden. You should be here.

Here are some pics of the hostel and the surrounding grounds.

Second floor deck overlooking the jungle.

Second floor deck overlooking the jungle.

Breakfast bar in the huge open-air kitchen

Breakfast bar in the huge open-air kitchen

El baño. One of a few that we all share

El baño. One of a few that we all share

Open air dining room with the jungle just a few feet away

Open air dining room with the jungle just a few feet away

Bovis from Germany typing away on his iPad

Bovis from Germany typing away on his iPad

Lauren, a staff volunteer at Jaguar's Jungle Hostel in Drake Bay doing some morning yoga. Time: 6:39am

Lauren, a staff volunteer at Jaguar’s Jungle Hostel in Drake Bay doing some morning yoga. Time: 6:39am

The showers. Everything in Costa Rica is colorful

The showers. Everything in Costa Rica is colorful

Hammocks right on the edge of the rain forest

Hammocks right on the edge of the rain forest

After geeking and freaking out about my accommodations and surroundings, I grabbed some breakfast, consisting of the sweetest, juiciest cantaloupe I’ve ever put in my mouth, a few slices of starfuit, a couple handfuls of raw almonds and those mini bananas you can find on occasion in the higher end grocery stores. However, the ones I’ve tried locally in Minnesota don’t hold a candle to these fresh, sweet, creamy, delicious little beauties.

I think things just taste better in Costa Rica. It’s a whole new theory I’m working on.

After breakfast, I went back to my room to upload and touch up the pics I’d taken. Felix peered through my open door and asked if I wanted to accompany Mariell and him to the waterfall. I said I just needed to finish what I was doing and join them. So I continued playing with my photos while they started out for the falls. A few minutes later, I finished up and headed out as well.

There was little restaurant at the trailhead leading to the falls where I paid a modest entrance fee of $1 USD or 500 colones.

There's a restaurant at the trailhead leading to the falls at Cascada Verde

There’s a restaurant at the trailhead leading to the falls at Cascada Verde

The trail to the falls was a bit less…shall we say…manicured than I expected? It wasn’t anything we couldn’t handle, but maybe I was expecting different. There were tree roots jutting up on the path and several places where there was a pretty substantial drop when stepping down the path toward the cascade.

I finally arrived and found Liz (the Londoner) and Danielle (the Texan-Virginian) sitting on a rock near the lower pool. After several failed attempts to communicate information to me (the sound from the falls drowned her voice), Liz gave up and I continued toward the pool just beneath the falls where I found Felix and Mariell.

The lower pool beneath the waterfall

The lower pool beneath the waterfall

The Falls at Cascada Verde

The Falls at Cascada Verde

Felix getting splashed by a refreshing cascade of warm Costa Rica water

Felix getting splashed by a refreshing cascade of warm Costa Rica water

The river below the falls

The river below the falls

After wading in the pools, navigating the rocks, a bit of swimming (the Europeans only – I opted out), and taking lots of photos, we decided to head to the beach. The following pics were taken on the way there. It was a pretty long walk. It took us around an hour to get there.

Did I mention Cost Rica is really colorful?

Did I mention Cost Rica is really colorful?

BahiaRio

BahiaRoad

BahiaWaterBird

UvitaColorfulCasas

UvitaColorGate

UvitaCountryRoad

UvitaFloralGate

UvitaHostelRoad

And when we got there, it was worth the walk.

UvitaBeachHangUvitaHillHomes

We parked our carcasses in the shade underneath this almond tree

We parked our carcasses in the shade underneath this almond tree

UvitaBeachCouple

UvitaBeachLeftZoom

UvitaBeachMist

UvitaBeachVisit

UvitaEstuaryMist

UvitaHillHomes

UvitaIguanaLog

UvitaIguanaZoom

The three of us (Mariell, Felix, and I) got back to the hostel around mid-afternoon, changed, cleaned up, and relaxed for a bit before embarking on a trek down the hill to Sueños Tranquillos, a resort, bar, and restaurant. Turns out they served up some mean casadas. I had Casada con Lomito, while the Europeans opted for Casadas con Pollos.

If you’re not familiar, the casadas consisted of the meat of choice, frijoles negros (black beans), arroz blanco (white rice), chayotes (squash), greens salad with tomatoes and onion, and platanos fritos(fried plantains), which were off-the-chain delicious.

We came back to the hostel and started making plans for our next few days in this beautiful country.

4 responses to “Costa Rica, Day 3: Exploring Uvita

  1. Good blog, but you may want to double check about Quetzals waking you in Uvita.

Leave a Reply

