Unemployment, the job market, and random acts of design

It’s been a while since I’ve blogged. Honestly, my life has been fairly uneventful in the wake of my amazing experience helping flood relief efforts in Fargo, ND in March.

I’m still unemployed. It’s a rough time to be looking for work in a field that you have no experience with. I graduated last spring with a degree in Visual Communication from Brown College and have been looking for work ever since then. Each passing month following my graduation, the job market has steadily declined and the unemployment rate has kept climbing. We’re now 4+ months into Obama’s presidency and last I heard, the unemployment rate was up another 2.x% since Bush left office. So much for economic stimulus improving the job market.

I have decided to use my unbelievable amounts of free time to improve my skills and stay active in online social media, blogging (I’m trying to be better, honest), and most importantly, to keep learning new technologies, stay abreast of emerging tech news, and practice web design and programming skills. I’ve been setting aside a bit of time each day to study and practice JavaScript & AJAX development, ActionScript 3.0 and user experience, as well as keeping up on basic HTML/CSS. I’ve also been digging into Photoshop and Illustrator a little more and keeping busy with projects so my skills don’t entropy.

On that note, there is some news. I am currently in the process of redesigning my website, http://www.donovantwaddledesign.com. If you’ll notice, it is currently not much to look at, but is just a functional iframe version of my multimedia portfolio. I hope to make it into a personal website which will include other aspects of my life, including my portfolio. And not just the multimedia stuff. I hope to incorporate my print work into the site as well. And while I’m at it, if I can make it into an engaging user experience, well, that’ll be all gravy.

I’m also designing some CD art for my brother, Tim. He’s recorded a CD of his poetry set to music in spoken word form. The CD is called “A Place in Dreams.” Check out the title track, “They Don’t Know,” and “Bollywood Diva” at his myspace page.

I’m going home on Wednesday, June 17th to visit and hang out with my parents for a while. I don’t have any idea how long I’ll stay. It’s kind of liberating to say that, but it also freaks me out a little, I’m not gonna lie. I figured as long as my job search is turning up exactly zero, I’ll just keep working on and adding to my portfolio. I can do that from anywhere, so why not at home? I’ll keep looking for work, of course, and if I land an interview, I’ll come back and prepare for it. If not, well, I guess I’ll just hang out for a while and enjoy being with my family. Those are the moments I’m more likely to remember on my deathbed anyway.

Leave a Reply

